Neuroma…

Unfortunately the Morton’s neuroma in my left foot has not improved. Or, more accurately: It started to improve, then I did too much and it got worse again.

I ran last week on Saturday and Sunday. It had been hurting a bit the previous week and as a result it was a bit uncomfortable Saturday evening, but nothing too bad. After that it felt reasonably OK. By Wednesday I had no complaints, so much so that I was considering a run in the evening but then I got home and it was dark and cold so in the end I didn’t. As punishment for my laziness, it suddenly got a lot worse on Thursday (why?) and hasn’t really improved much since.

So I’ve started icing it several times a day, which might help me break out of a possible inflammation loop, but it has not had any obvious effect so far. On the first day of icing it felt pretty weird, like I could actually feel the nerve along its length.

It doesn’t seem to hurt much or at all when I’m walking (or running for that matter). It’ll be when I’m sat at my desk that suddenly I’ll feel like someone has started jabbing a pin into the ball of my foot near the base of my toes, or my toes suddenly feel sort of cold and sort of bruised. Nerves are strange things.

So at the moment it looks like it will be at least a few weeks until I’m running again, which is frustrating.

It also turns out that when I run now my left shoe rubs along my arch. It never used to do this, indicating a biomechanical change. I hesitate to say it, but… overpronation? So in the meantime I can work on stability and flexibility and all that. And come to think of it, my hips do feel a bit asymmetrical.

The ‘medical’ way to treat a neuroma is to cut it out. Unfortunately the research on how well this works is very hard to assess. It’s not a 100% success rate, but reliability of the diagnosis seems a bit iffy which might fully account for the surgical failures. Most people affected by neuromas are middle aged women, but it’s also common in runners. These are very distinct sets of people with distinct lifestyles, histories and footwear, and it would be better if the literature treated them separately as misdiagnosis might be common in one set but not the other.

I like blogging

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

