Metatarsalgia #3

Following my doctors visit last week about my metatarsalgia…

The doctor wants to get blood tests and an x-ray done. The x-ray is self explanatory. The blood tests are for things like diabetes and gout, which it makes sense to check, but I don’t really expect either to come back positive. After that he mentioned a podiatrist, but this is the NHS so the timespans involved here will likely be measured in months.

But it actually seems to be improving. I know I have been here before, but for the last few days I’ve been walking around with no real discomfort. The treatment plan so far has been: wearing running shoes for everyday walking, icing 2-3x a day, lots of foam rolling of my calves and some very gentle calf stretching (less gentle stretches seemed to aggravate it more), and two more things I don’t think do much but I should include for completeness: a huge amount of towel scrunching (like 5-7 sets of 50 after I get out of the shower), and some fingers-between-toes-stretching. I’m trying to wean myself off the ice so I’m down to 1x a day now.

I did a short and (very) slow run on Saturday, and it hurt a tiny bit more on Sunday, but hasn’t interfered with the overall trend of getting better. So that seems ok, and maybe even helpful, as long as I don’t overload it.

I like blogging

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

