polling stations

I talked myself out of voting after all. I realised that the adrenaline rush from the prospect of voting (yes, really) was convincing me that the greens were better than they really are, and by the time I got home from work the excitement had worn off and I didn’t feel the urge any more. I don’t regret it. I am not apathetic about politics, nor was I too lazy to go to the polling station – I did go to the polling station! Or at least, I ran past its front door and could easily have stopped. It looked utterly deserted and I could have been in and out in two minutes. But I didn’t, because I didn’t want to vote for anyone.

At some point someone will pipe up with the intensely irritating cliche phrase “if you didn’t vote, you’ve no right to complain”, as if it’s insightful or even just makes any form of sense whatsoever. I find that phrase irritating not just because it is total non-sequitur, but also because it implies it is the voter’s fault for not finding someone to agree with. Which is really fucking stupid. It’s brilliant for politicians that this is a widespread attitude because it completely excuses them for benefiting from the corrupt and unfunctional mess that is the British political system and instead assigns the blame for its state to the non-voter, for indiscernible reasons that nobody ever seems able to put forward. Even more annoying is when people will now tut at me for ‘allowing’ UKIP to get a seat. Or something. As if the entire point of my vote is to vote against some party you don’t like.

I have some common sense policies I want to see represented. For example, I DO want to see a harder stance on immigration via the EU, because 1. having a large supply of surplus labour devalues people and 2. freedom of EU movement is a bit overrated when out of all the EU countries, you’d only consider moving to two or three of them. But to get that representation you have to go with economically right wing parties, which kind of shoots yourself in the foot when your main aim was to achieve an economy which is not quite so exploitative of regular people. One of my main problems with the greens is that they are wholly in favour of devaluing our labour market, i.e. me.

So instead of having a nice walk in the rain to the polling station I had a nice run in the rain past the polling station. By the end I probably weighed an extra 5lb due to all the water my clothes were retaining. Technical t-shirts might dry quickly but that’s no use when there’s a never ending supply of water falling from the sky. I was DRENCHED. My legs hate me; they are stiff, achy and heavy. I don’t understand why they are recovering so slowly. I’ve just taken four days off and last night’s run was worse than any of last week’s. My knee hurt for the first few minutes and I think it’s because my muscles just weren’t warm enough to absorb the impact properly and my hips weren’t flexible enough to keep my gait fluid. I am now aggressively stretching my hips with yoga – lots of warrior I + II, pigeon poses. I don’t know what’s wrong.

I finished the 5k in 25:46, which is fairly slow for me. I have really slowed down in the last few weeks and if anything it is just getting harder and harder. I don’t know why I am going backwards, even with a lot of rest… I wonder if running more slowly than normal is counter-intuitively placing my muscles under more stress because it alters my gait and they aren’t used to it, but I don’t know if I can run faster right now.

I like blogging

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

