Do you even roll?

My foam roller arrived! I had no idea so much excitement could be packed into a simple and unassuming blue tube of foam.

I rolled my IT band – OUCH! Near my hip and near my knee, very uncomfortable. It’s kind of OK in the middle. I worked it slooooowly from the hip towards the knee, and as you approach the knee things really start getting serious. I wonder, is this normal, or does it indicate that I am very tight there? For comparison, rolling my calves is slightly painful at one spot only, and rolling the front of my thighs is not at all painful and is kind of fun, in much the way you’d expect rolling around the floor like a lunatic to be fun.

So far I can vouch for foam rolling’s capacity to induce pain. Time will tell whether it can also work the other way.

I like blogging

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

