Exercise addiction

I like to run.

I normally run about 6.5 miles, because I have a route that happens to be 6.5 miles. That’s a bit further than 10k. I only got up to the 10k mark in the last 6 weeks or so, and it’s only in the last couple of weeks that EVERY run I do is 10k. I ran Wednesday evening and was going for speed (and did pretty well), but for the rest of Wednesday and at work Thursday, I was getting some pains in my Achilles tendon when I walked up and down stairs. This is something I’ve never had before. Turns out, Achilles tendonitis is generally caused by:

  1. Increasing mileage too fast – hmm, maybe
  2. Increasing speed too fast – hmm, yep
  3. Hills – definitely!

Achilles tendonitis is kind of a big deal so I didn’t want to aggravate it, but it’s very very difficult to just sit on one’s behind if you’re used to being active (probably as difficult as it is for an inactive person to start running). So I decided I’d wait until Sunday, then do a short run. Sunday comes and, well, I sort of make up the route as I’m going along to make sure I avoid the nasty hills, and take it all more slowly. I get back thinking I’ve probably not gone that far really, until I plug it all into google maps… 7 miles. I’m an idiot.

On the other hand, no pain, so it’s all good.

I’ve also started exercise biking. I might progress to real biking, but I don’t currently own a bike that moves. And I’m not convinced that the health benefits strictly outweigh the risk of getting knocked off by a car. It feels good so far.

I like blogging

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

